No more radio, for now

2 Jul

Too much radio had invaded my life. So I decided to turn it off for while. All those songs about romance or, more often than not, just lust, really started bothering me. I started believing that that was all that was important. I started forgetting what real love is. I began to believe the lie that human love satisfies. I began to think I was missing out on something, began to spend less time meditating on the kind of love that matters, love from God. So I quit listening to the radio, to the pop station and the in-the-middle-plays-everything station and all the other stations I’d flip back and forth between on my long car trips from home to the office and back again. Instead, I listened to audio dramas of the Chronicles of Narnia. Most recently I finished the Prince Caspian story, the story of how a young prince restores Narnia, a fictional land, to its former glory after the Telmarines had ruled for many years. Rather than make me feel incomplete, listening to these stories makes me feel more complete in that they give me a better picture of Christianity. With my background in Christianity, these stories only illuminate that more. (C.S. Lewis, the writer of these stories, was a devout Christian.) They deepen my faith rather than erode it. Just this morning, as I drove to work, I felt so filled with joy that I might burst. Aslan—the great lion who is like Jesus—says to Lucy something so wonderful. Lucy remarks that Aslan looks bigger than when she’d last seen him, and she wonders why, thinking maybe it’s because Aslan grew older. He tells her that each year she grows bigger, He too grows. This is such a simple, perfect illustration: The closer we get to Jesus, the bigger he becomes. When we grow in Christ, we begin seeing Him clearer, for all the power and glory that he holds. I cannot imagine what it will be like to see Him face to face one day, to finally comprehend the awesomeness of God, to be in his perfect glory, how terrifying and wonderful, all at the same time.

2 Responses to “No more radio, for now”

  1. Grayquill July 2, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Good Post –
    “The just shall live by faith.”
    “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”

    • slippedink July 2, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      Great verse. :] Thanks for sharing. Enjoy the holiday weekend.

Leave a Reply

