Gas station coffee

22 Dec

I don’t often get gas station coffee, although it’s gotten better over recent years. I am a coffee snob. I like my coffee fresh and flavorful, which is why I often make it at home. It’s cheaper, too. Occasionally I splurge at Starbucks and buy a latte the price of a meal. Tim Horton’s is good, too. But that goes without saying. If you’re not from the North East and don’t know what Tim Horton’s is, well, you’ll just have to come here and find out for yourself. If you come to Buffalo, you’ll see them every 100 foot or so.

Occasionally I do get gas station coffee. My dad gives me his free coffee coupons, the ones where when so many coffees get purchased and so many holes get punched, you win a free coffee. He always asks me when I’m getting ready for work, kind of sneaks up on me. I’ll be putting on my mascara, super close to the mirror, when I’ll hear:

“Hey, do you want a free coffee coupon?”

Of course I do. Gas station coffee isn’t my favorite, but it’s free coffee. Amazing how free anything makes it so much better. Well, I shouldn’t say that. He gives me coupons for two gas stations. The one is actually quite good. Better than the other.

“Yeah, sure, thanks,” I’ll say. He hands it to me like he used to hand me my allowance when I was in the second grade, carefully and tentatively, like a rare treasure.

For days afterward, he’ll ask me every morning, “Did you use your free coffee coupon?” until I actually do.

“No dad, I didn’t have time yesterday.”

“Oh.”

“I’m saving it.”

One time I lost my coffee coupon. I tried to get around not telling my dad, but it’s hard when he asks so often. Finally I came out and said it. He honestly looked hurt. I promised him it would never happen again.

“You know what happens when you leave papers lying around in this house,” he said.

I felt terrible.

The other day I mixed up the coupons. I handed the lady at the Quick Fill the coupon for the coffee at the other gas station. She stared at it as I fumbled in my bag for the car keys.

“Honey, I don’t know what this is,” she said.

She turned it around for me, and I examined it, embarrassed.

“I guess I mixed my coupons,” I said.

She and the guy waiting in line behind me laughed, and then I laughed too. I got out my debit card and paid the dollar something it cost. It was the first time I’d paid for a gas station coffee. It felt strange.

3 Responses to “Gas station coffee”

  1. letherdie December 22, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    :] favorite line and most thought provoking: He hands it to me like he used to hand me my allowance when I was in the second grade, carefully and tentatively, like a rare treasure.

  2. Grayquill December 23, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    I have to admit – I don’t really like gas station coffee all that much but i drink it at least 3 times a week – only on my way to work. My favorite gas station coffee place changed ownership a while back. I gave the new lady owner three chances. First time no coffee was made. The next time coffee was made but she had unplugged the coffee machine to save elecricity and it was luke warm ( i’m glad i checked b-4 leaving). The last time it was hot but looked like tea water and tasted like hot water. I told her, I came here for coffee not tea, THIS LOOKS LIKE TEA – I WANT COFFEE NOT TEA!!
    I haven’t give her a fouth chance – there are lots of gas station coffee places but her is most convient. You got me all amped up over gas station coffee – how dare you?

  3. slippedink December 24, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Haha. I would say three chances is plenty enough. Terrible coffee such as the kind you described just isn’t acceptable. Have a merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

