column.

31 Oct

When we feel we should do something, or in my case write something, we need to follow that nudge. Some people would call it a muse. Others, the Holy Spirit. A few weeks ago I submitted a column to The Buffalo News about a little German restaurant called Scharf’s Schiller Park Restaurant, and they published it. Before hearing whether they’d publish it, which was about a week lapse, I felt stupid that I’d even submitted it. I wished I could take it back. I thought it was horrible, perhaps. But it wasn’t. They published it, and readers commented on it, and people e-mailed me about it and even called saying they had seen it. Most had stories of their own about a similar restaurant, or the actual one.

Tonight I went back to Scharf’s. My mom wanted to go their for her birthday dinner. When I walked in, the owner beamed at me. When I walked out at the end of the night, he stopped me. I could never have imagined what he would say next. He was on the verge of bankruptcy all summer, he said. He works 70 plus hours a week. But then came the column. Business has been like it once was, people calling every day for reservations. He thanked me profusely. I watched as this grown man’s eyes filled with tears. He gave me a bottle of his mother’s home made marinade and a gift certificate for $50. He then reached out to me for a hug, and I hugged him back.

Writing the column felt like the most natural thing. I wanted other people to feel what I felt, and I then began writing. In then end, the column did not save his business, but it gave him hope. It gave him more people walking through its doors. It gave him affirmation that he is doing something good. I really don’t know all that it did for him. I felt in the hug and saw in the tears that I will never truly know.

But what I do know is that words have power, power to do good and bad. I’ve always heard this. But it’s never been so tangible as now, when a business that once was dying is now stable again and an owner that was once weary now expresses joy.

One Response to “column.”

  1. Grayquill November 28, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    WOW! – that is a great story. I loved it and a great reminder – thanks

Leave a Reply

