not much, not much at all.

8 Sep

Lightening slit through the sky. Rain drenched me as I ran from my school board meeting back to my car in the middle of the dark parking lot. The parking lot lamps glowed in the rain, the other bright spot in the sky besides the streaking lightening. The rain fell sideways with the wind. My fingers slipped on the car door a couple times before I got it open and tumbled inside, wet and heaving from running. I realize my  notepad was irrevocably ruined from rain. Good thing I tucked the tape recorder into a safe, inner pocket. I turned the igniton and switched on the wipers. Swish, swish, swish, swish. How odd it seemed, inside a small car in the middle of torrential rain, like the pocket inside my purse, perfectly safe.

Leave a Reply

