thoughts, at random.

3 Sep

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about getting a master’s degree. But in what? I’m the kind of weird person who naturally enjoys school. I like learning. A lot. If I came upon a sudden inheritance, I would probably spend it accumulating all sorts of useless, fascinating degrees. In the meantime, I have to be practical. And practically speaking, I have to say to myself: “How would a master’s degree further your career?” Which forces me think: what do I really want to do? Write. That’s it, really. And I want to become good at it, eventually. A master’s in journalism is silly because it’s basically what I’m doing right now minus getting graded for it. A master’s in creative writing would be fun yet expensive, and I cannot afford a fun degree. It would force me to be accountable to a group of people, provide me with a stellar reading list and access to writerly teachers. All of which, if I really tried, I could impose upon myself with a little effort. Still, the degree’s tempting, mostly because, like I said, it would be so darn fun.

I’m not sure if journalism is where I’ll always be. I do know many of the best books I’ve read were written by former journalists. Coincidence? Not likely. I think writing for a newspaper is the best possible training for any type of writer. The great thing about it is that it forces you to write, about all kinds of things, all the time.

In the mean time, between now and the ever-widening, hazy expanse that is currently my future, I will continue ruminating, about possible degrees. Web design? That’d be cool.

 

Leave a Reply

