Write your own obituary

23 Apr

It would be good practice for people to regularly write their own obituaries. Not only will it save your family trouble when you die, but it will allow you to gauge your own life.

Every day I write obituaries. The other I day, I began imagining what my own might look like. I compiled a list of things I’d accomplished and organizations I belong to and awards I’d been given. It was a morbid task, I admit. And, it didn’t take long.

It began, Naomi Spencer, 22 of Buffalo, died, well, blank, in her home after a short illness (well, one can hope, right?) She was born June 29, 1987, in Buffalo. She attended Christian Central Academy and Spring Arbor University, where she received a degree in English. After graduating, she wrote for the Bee Newspapers….

After that, I had nothing left to write. Granted, I’m still young, and most people die when they’re old. Between their young years and their old years is when they generally do things worth writing about in an obituary, things like having a family and whatnot.

So I gave myself a little slack, but not too much. Why?

If the writer of obituaries knows something, it’s that people die young. They die young all the time, for all different reasons. Some get cancer. Others commit suicide, the pseudonym for which is, “died suddenly.” Some get hit by a car. Others have heart murmurs.

Teenagers especially should write their own obituaries. They are plagued by their own supposed immortality, which is why, I guess, they drive fast.  

Writing your own obituary might force your to gauge your life, but more importantly, it will force you to think about how short life really is.

What’s most important to you? Do you want the person writing your obituary to write that most important to you was your family or your yearly cruises to the Carribean?

It’s a healthy exercise, healthier than doing crunches.

I suggest doing it at least once per year.

Leave a Reply

